Orange Dreamsicle Cake

2015-07-12 21.11.56

Yesterday was my husband’s birthday and I decided I wanted to make him a cake that we hadn’t had before. Something fun and new to celebrate him. As I mentioned before, I really like light desserts and especially in the summer, so that was a criteria I was looking for. Also, I finally got a bundt pan a few months ago (I know, it’s weird that I’ve never had a bundt pan before, but I do now, so give me a break) and I wanted to use that. LOL

2015-07-12 21.16.27

I decided on an Orange Dreamsicle cake and I’m sooooo glad I did because the whole family was raving about it. So, here’s how you do it.

Get yourself a boxed white cake and make it in your bundt pan (of course you could make this in any kind of pan, but it wouldn’t look nearly as lovely).

Let your cake cool and then poke a bunch of holes in it while still in the pan (I used a little straw, but you could use a skewer or something like that).

Now mix a small box of orange jell-o with 1 cup of boiling water to dissolve it and only a 1/2 cup of cold water. Proceed to pour this all over the cake. It will seem like a lot, but it will soak in.

Stick that baby in the fridge for 2 hours. About an hour into that time, get out an 8oz. block of cream cheese and set it on the counter to soften.

Once your cream cheese is softened, mix it in a bowl with 1 1/3 cups powdered sugar. You can use a mixer if you want, but it can easily be mixed by hand too.

Take your cake out of the fridge (this should be at least 2 hours after you poured the jell-o into it), flip it out of the pan and onto a plate or cake stand and frost it, then stick it back in the fridge for about an hour.

Take that gorgeous cake out and slice yourself up a little bit of heaven. Oh my goodness! The cold cake and frosting is so refreshing and delicious!

2015-07-12 21.19.48

Here’s the rundown of ingredients again for you, as an easy reference…

1 White Box Cake (Prepared)

1 Small Box Orange Jell-o

1 Cup Boiling Water

1/2 Cup Cold Water

1 8oz. Brick Cream Cheese

1 1/3 Cups Powdered Sugar

Super simple, super yummy and I guarantee you’ll love it!

2 thoughts on “Orange Dreamsicle Cake

Leave a Reply

