I WON FURNITURE!!!

If you’ve ever looked at contests for big items and wondered if anyone actually wins them or if they just say that “John M. from Utah” won and know that no one will be the wiser (yes, I have wondered this many times), then I’m here to tell you that people do actually win!!!

There is a company called Tenpenny Furniture that I first discovered on facebook and they do giveaways as they reach certain amounts of likes on their page. I had liked, commented and shared on a couple of their giveaways and as usual, not won. Then, they decided to switch it up a little one day and had people post a selfie with their old furniture as their entry. Here is my entry…

2015-05-28 10.22.02

Real pretty, huh? I’m talking about me, not the couch here. Eeek! Anyway, I captioned it with something along the lines of being thankful that this couch had been gifted to me, but that the whole country bumpkin style just wasn’t me.

Now, there were people with much worse looking furniture than mine, but they were just doing a random drawing of the pictures submitted, so I felt like I had a decent chance. Also, because you had to go through the effort of taking a picture and submitting it, there were way less entries than usual.

The day that they were announcing the winner, I looked on their facebook page and it said “Only 1 hour until we announce the giveaway winner!”  My husband was handing me a cup of coffee and I looked up at him and grabbed his face and said “I just have a good feeling about this. I just feel like I’m going to win this furniture.” He smiled at me unconvincingly and said “I hope you’re right.” He obviously wasn’t feeling as positive about it as I was.

A little over an hour later, I logged on to facebook to see who the winner was and just try to imagine what I felt when I saw “Well, our little country bumpkin, you won’t have to have that couch for much longer, because you, Danielle Gerstenberger, are the winner of our giveaway!” Those weren’t the exact words, but it was darn close. I literally jumped up off of the couch and started jumping all over the living room, screaming like a maniac “I WON THE FURNITURE! I WON THE FURNITURE!”. Brian and the boys were staring at me like I had lost my mind. For a second there, I don’t know if they believed me, but then I showed them and we were all yelling together!!! Such a fun moment, I can’t even tell you.

So, want to see what I won?

The Corley Sofa from Ashley Furniture

10413408_10152991717607572_5933850392805905454_n

The Corley Chair from Ashley Furniture

10641251_10152991717612572_9121925562965421184_n

I was so excited about the colors, because they go perfectly with my decor. How lucky was that?! While I waited for it to come in and get the call that I could come and pick it up, they company was awesome about corresponding with me through facebook messenger and everyone I spoke with at the Novi store (where we were going to have to pick it up from) were extremely friendly.

Well, we got the call while on vacation that it was in and yesterday, we went and picked it up. I cannot tell you how excited our whole family is about this new furniture. It seriously goes perfectly in our living room and is so comfy! I’ve always wanted a cool accent chair like this, but being practical, would never have bought one. Now I get to have one and it’s already been dubbed “The Queen’s Throne” and is mine, all mine! The couch is 8 ft. long, so it is huge and all 4 of the boys/guys can sit on it at one time. It’s just so awesome. I can’t even tell you. My husband has back problems and our old couches hurt his back so bad. This one is super comfy for him!

Overall, this has been such an awesome experience and a complete blessing to our family. I could not be more grateful that I won this furniture. I’m having a bunch of people over next week and can’t wait for them to see my new furniture. It’s just so fun!

Here’s a little before and after of my living room. (Notice my dog making little appearances in each picture. LOL)

2015-07-06 13.50.06 2015-07-09 10.45.52

Here are some pictures of it in my living room and some things close up so you can see color and texture…

2015-07-08 20.49.57

2015-07-09 10.46.27

2015-07-09 10.48.18

2015-07-09 10.49.29

2015-07-09 10.50.07

2015-07-09 10.48.35

2015-07-09 10.49.03

Seriously, isn’t it gorgeous?! So, if you ever wonder if people actually do win things like this, I’m here to tell you THEY ABSOLUTELY DO! So, enter those contests! Who knows, you might be the lucky winner next!

2 thoughts on “I WON FURNITURE!!!

Leave a Reply

