Pets

I have to start off with a little disclaimer that I am not an animal lover. I like them A LOT, but I’m not someone who treats them like people. I think they are adorable and fun, but I am not a fan of being covered in animal hair or slobber or having them jump up on me or sniff me in uncomfortable areas when I go to someone’s house. You know exactly what I mean when I say that. However, we do have some pretty darn cute pets and I do talk baby talk to them on occasion, I will admit it. How could you not though, when you look at their cute little faces?

So, let me introduce you to our family pets.

First up, we have our pretty much perfect dog, Sasha. She’s a Shih Tzu and we got her when she was almost 2 years old, so she was past all of the potty-training stuff (I have zero patience for that, no matter how cute an animal is. I can’t deal with my house being like a giant bathroom). That already made her pretty dang great, but besides that she is just super loving and sweet. She’s pretty chill most of the time, but loves to get all riled up and play with the boys and us on occasion too. She does bark whenever she even thinks she’s hears someone near our house, but I guess that isn’t such a bad thing. She is totally attached to me. When she isn’t lying in her bed, she is lying by my feet. She lies down outside the bathroom door whenever I go to the bathroom or take a shower and she likes to follow me around when I’m doing things. She and Asher are buddies, but Gavin is a pretty big fan of hers too. Not to say that Riley doesn’t like her, he just doesn’t seem to be quite as interested in her as the other boys are. What else makes her almost perfect? She doesn’t shed!!! I have a serious aversion to animal hair being in my house and all over my stuff, so a non-shedding dog was the ONLY way I was willing to go. She is 9 years old now and she is the absolute perfect dog for us. We’ve already decided that once she is gone, we won’t get another dog because we are pretty sure we won’t find one as awesome as her.

2015-02-12 12.54.58

The real shocker when it comes to our pets though is the cats we got at the end of last September. I never wanted cats and have never been much of a cat person. We live in the country though and were noticing mice around a lot and Brian suggested that maybe we get some. So, I ended up getting put in touch with my brother-in-law’s cousin who has a ton of barn cats and had several kittens. The best part…they were free and then $10.00 each to get them fixed and since I was taking two, they only charged me to fix one of them. We got them when they were just little and the gray one was crazy and would attack everyone. They were terrified of everything. We worked with them though and they are the sweetest cats ever. My 3 year old niece was just hugging all over them the other day and they just love it. They live in our garage and are currently shut in there at night and allowed to run around outside all day. We are going to install a kitty door in our service door of our garage though, so they can go in an out freely when we aren’t home during the day too. They are seriously the best cats and so dang cute. Stella is the gray and white one and I absolutely love the little freckle she has on her nose. Lula is the tabby and she is so super sweet. I honestly just love them both and totally talk baby talk to them all the time.

2014-12-30 23.16.41

2015-02-28 14.40.13

2015-01-12 15.59.21 2015-02-28 14.26.57

You may have noticed that all of our pets are female. That is not by accident. Since I am the only female human in the house, I only thought it was fair that I at least get to have female pets. I call them “my girls” because they are the only girls I will get until I’m maybe blessed with granddaughters in the future. Aren’t my girls cute? LOL

My favorite thing though is how well Sasha gets along with Stella and Lula. All 3 of them chase each other around and play all the time and it’s so cute.

2015-03-13 15.02.332015-06-23 11.01.26

So, those are our pets. They are super low-maintenance (besides Sasha’s grooming appointments, but that’s no big deal) and super sweet.

What pets do you have? If you don’t have any, why not?

2 thoughts on “Pets

  1. Cute fur babies! Right now we have a dog and a cat. I have always been a cat person, and said that we would never have a dog….. but I got sucked in when I saw the pic of Lici. And all of our pets have been girls as well, for the same reason as you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

