Weekend Shennanigans

This weekend was filled with great things that made my heart smile, so I thought I’d give you a little peek into the fun I had…

Friday night we stayed home and relaxed and it was blissful…well, except for Gavin who left at 4:30 in the morning on Friday to go work with a guy we know and ended up working until about 5:30 the next morning. The rest of us enjoyed a relaxing evening though. Sorry, Gavin! I did bake a cake for Saturday, but that was fun.

Saturday morning, Gavin got home and showered and immediately went to bed before Riley and Asher even woke up for the day! I made the frosting for the cake I was taking to a party later in the day and put the strawberries on it. This is the Strawberries and Cream Poke Cake that I did a post on a few weeks ago. You can see it here, if you missed it. Man is that cake good!

2015-06-20 12.04.48

We all got ready for the day and woke Gavin up just before we were leaving so he could quickly get ready to go too. We had to run to a couple of stores and then I went to my cousin’s wedding shower. His fiance had it in their back yard and everything was really pretty and fancy and I thoroughly enjoyed drinking my lemonade out of a wine glass.

Sam was channeling Vanna White as she showed off her gifts.

2015-06-20 15.11.37

From there our family headed to the graduation party of one of the sweetest, most beautiful girls I know. My amazing Goddaughter, Sierra, graduated this year and it’s insane to me that she is this old already. I’ve known her from the time she was inside her sweet momma’s obsessive apple and cereal eating belly. LOL She had this gorgeous curly brown hair and big brown eyes as a baby and she has grown into such a gorgeous young woman. My favorite thing about her is her faith and how she treats everyone with such kindness. She is truly a beauty in every possible way. She put this little collage of pictures on my facebook page for my birthday this year and just melted my heart. I was so happy to be able to celebrate her graduation with her. On the right is one of her Senior pictures. Isn’t she gorgeous?!

11150198_1047419041939707_6841202018873514045_n10941855_1000733383274940_826097882739557269_n

From there we headed to my Mom and Dad’s house to celebrate Father’s Day. Both of my sisters and their families were there and my brother-in-law, Jason, made the most incredible ribs I have EVER tasted. I kid you not. My sister always raves about them and Brian was giving Jason a hard time (jokingly of course) at Easter camping about the fact that he supposedly makes these awesome ribs, yet none of us have ever gotten to try them. Well, he totally delivered. I mean, wow, they were incredible!

2015-06-20 18.57.49

We were all so full from dinner that we decided to have the cake I made late in the evening. My sisters and I gave our Dad his gifts and took a couple of pictures with him (Oh, how I love this man.)

10154332_10203372179859052_5487758700376937814_n

10629820_10203372180419066_7562678562579877278_n

We finished out the night with a HUGE bonfire. The kids loved when we burned my parents’ Christmas tree from this past year. It was obviously extremely dried out, so it took off and burned up super fast. It was pretty cool to watch.

2015-06-20 21.44.43

Sunday was a busy day with trying to get things ready for our upcoming camping trip and all of the grocery shopping, food prep and packing, but I did manage to make Brian a little something to celebrate with and the kids gave him a gift of a bunch of yummy snacks to take camping that are just for him. It was a great way to wind down the weekend and I feel so blessed. I’m so grateful for this life and for the amazing people I get to share it with. Life is good and God is great!

One thought on “Weekend Shennanigans

Leave a Reply

