Share a Song Sunday – Father’s Day Edition

love-song-bird

So, since it’s Father’s Day, I thought it only seemed fitting to share a song that reminds me of my awesome Daddy. Made me smile as I listened to it just now and think back of all the times (the ones I can remember anyway) when I have heard my Dad sing this song.

This is myself and my Dad about 2 years ago at my Grandma’s birthday party. I thought you might like to see what he looks like before I tell you about why I chose this song, so you could really get an appreciation for it. He is 6’5″ and is about 300 lbs. He’s a pretty intimidating guy to look at and when someone makes him mad, they better watch out, but overall he’s totally a big ol’ sensitive softie and the most amazing Dad and Grandfather. He’s a big jokester and loves to mess with people and it’s hard to find a person that doesn’t like him. He’s just amazing.

1175100_10151503994231841_553826138_n

Ok, I could go on all day about how great he is, but I’ll come back to the song at hand. I am sharing Tiny Bubbles by Don Ho with you. I am going to guess that most of you have never heard this song before, but I’m sure a few of you have. What does this song have to do with my Dad, you ask? Well, I can’t tell you how many times I have heard my Dad sing that song. He tends to do it when he’s working on something and he actually sings it pretty dang good! The funny part about it though is that he does it totally to be a goof. I think he’s pretty well aware that someone of his stature singing this song is a hilarious contradiction of sorts.

I am incapable of not giggling when he sings it and although it’s been a long time since he’s done it, I know that if he never sings it again, I’ll still never forget the times when he has.

So, this Father’s Day, I celebrate with sharing a song that makes me smile just thinking about it because it makes me think of my most favorite man in the world (next to my husband of course)…my Daddy.

Leave a Reply

