The First Big Step

minimal-desktop-wallpaper-step-by-step

My husband was away at 5th grade camp as a chaperone from Tuesday to Friday last week (he’s the Technology Director for our school district and this was his 3rd year going on the trip), so it was just me and the boys for the week. I have to say that I absolutely hate him being gone, but I love that he goes and does that with and for the kids. He’s pretty awesome like that and I know a lot of the parents really appreciate him being there too.

Anyway, I couldn’t wait for him to get home on Friday! We sent texts to each other throughout the week and talked on the phone every night before bed, but I just couldn’t wait to see his face again and have him back home with us!  Yeah, I kind of like him.

I wasn’t expecting to get to see him until the end of the school day on Friday, but he sent me a text and said I should come up town (to our tiny little one traffic light town) to the little restaurant up there and meet him for lunch! I was thrilled that I was going to get to see him before I thought I would and even more thrilled at the chance to have time for just the two of us.

It was in the low 80s and feeling pretty warm, so I decided this was it…I was going to take that first big step I’ve been talking about and wear a pair of shorts in public! Kinda scary for me, I’m not gonna lie. I felt like the tiny little restaurant in town was a good starting place though, so I decided to go for it. I took my shower and got my hair and makeup done and put on my outfit for the day and…I surprisingly didn’t hate how I looked. I actually felt kind of cute. WHAT???!!! It’s true!

When I got to the restaurant and saw him, we were both all smiles and giddy and it was so ridiculous and I loved every second of it. The way he looked at me made me feel like the most gorgeous girl on the planet. We went in and sat down and he just kept looking at me and he said “You look amazing right now. Everything about you looks amazing.” Swoon. And with that, I felt amazing.

We ate lunch and then decided to run into the next town over that isn’t a ton bigger than ours, but bigger, to go to the grocery store and grab a few things for our son’s birthday party. Can I tell you that I didn’t even think about the fact that I was wearing shorts in public? I didn’t feel uncomfortable or self-conscious and when we ran into a friend and talked to her for a bit, I didn’t think even once about what she might be thinking about my legs because, guess what? She wasn’t! No one is! I can wear shorts and not have to think even for a second about it because no one else cares! Cue the light bulb. Sheesh, why has it taken me so long to get to this point? 37 years old and just finally figuring out that no one thinks about us nearly as much as we think they do. LOL Most people have better things to do than to sit around thinking about what my legs look like in shorts. SHOCKER!

So, my friends. My legs made their debut in shorts and nothing catastrophic happened. No one crashed their car from seeing me walk along the sidewalk into the restaurant, no one choked on their food, no one in the grocery store laughed and pointed. My legs went completely unnoticed (except by my husband of course, who was thrilled to be able to reach over in the car and touch my bare leg…ooh la la).

I am so excited about this summer and the freedom from worrying about how my legs look. I’m so excited that when it’s hot, I can wear something comfortable and cool, instead of suffocating in capris. This summer is going to rock. I’m so glad I took this first big step.

Oh, want to see what I wore? Well, here ya go… (P.S. The shorts are Dockers and the top is Ann Taylor Loft and I got both of them at Goodwill for a total of $4.50)

2015-05-29 12.09.56 2015-05-29 12.13.51

2 thoughts on “The First Big Step

Leave a Reply

