Healthy Breakfast

2015-05-15 09.58.40

I’ve never been a breakfast eater. When I get up, I am not in the mood yet to eat. I want some coffee or tea and to just relax for a bit before I even think about eating. On days when I have to work or have other places to go though, I don’t have time to do that before I eat. Cereal rarely ever sounds good to me. In fact, there aren’t many I like. Brian thinks I’m crazy, but my favorite cereal is Grape-Nuts. I occasionally like it with a little banana cut up in it too. I seriously remember getting Grape-Nuts for my birthday because I like it that much. I think I was like 15 when that happened. LOL I occasionally like a bigger breakfast with eggs, potatoes, bacon, etc. but I don’t like to eat that big of a meal until about 10:00 or 11:00. So, I’m kind of limited on what my breakfast can consist of when I’ve got to eat and get out the door.

My breakfasts lately have been super healthy and super good. I love eating this for breakfast because it is filling and I feel good about what I’ve just eaten. I make up some quinoa and steel cut oats at the beginning of the week and store them separately in the fridge in storage containers. In the morning, I put half a cup of each into a bowl and stir it together with some berries and throw it in the microwave for a minute. I pull it out, sprinkle a few almonds and/or pecans on top and add a drizzle of agave and I’m ready to roll! The texture of the quinoa and steel cut oats is awesome and the berries and agave add a little sweetness, while the nuts add a little crunch. It’s a breakfast packed with fiber and is filling, while still being healthy and delicious.

So, if you’ve been in a bit of a breakfast rut and are looking for something quick and good to start your day with during the work week, try it out! If you don’t like it, you’re just weird. LOL

Leave a Reply

