Hairstyle Addict

keep-calm-and-change-your-hair

So, if you know me at all, you know that I like to change up my hair. Cut, color, whatever. I get bored and I like something new. Well, I got my latest style and color last Friday, but decided the next day that I wanted it a little shorter, so I went back yesterday and my amazing stylist hooked me up!

Now, before I show you my latest look, I thought it might be fun to look through some of the styles/colors from my past. Of course, right before I went to get this latest chop, Riley told me he really liked my hair when it was long. Isn’t that just how it works? Thing is though, my hair is fairly thin and when it gets long, it just gets stringy. I had short hair for years and then let it grow out for a couple of years and I finally couldn’t take it anymore and cut it off last Fall. I’ve gradually been going shorter. I LOVE having short hair. It’s so much faster to do and so much sassier. I am so glad I finally made the cut to short again. But I digress. Here are some of the looks from over the past 8 years or so…

1931544_104759831840_6221842_n 1931430_149570411840_204057_n IMG_1236 mepistonsgame2012 Daniellebangs me1 MyCollage_0 menov152014 10246724_10152467978246841_3352678575481629522_n (1) 11149387_10152625977831841_3333642319019278921_n

As you can see, I’m definitely not afraid of color or of chopping my hair all off. It’s just hair! It grows back! You can change the color! It’s such an easy way to make a change and to give yourself a little pick-me-up.

That first picture up there was one of my absolute favorite hairstyles. It was soooo easy and I always felt cute. Thus the reason I decided to go shorter again. Now, I’m not quite to the point of going that short, but you never know. When I made the initial chop (which you can see in the side by side picture of me in the coral top) my friend (and stylist) told me she knew I would end up going back to shorter hair eventually and that she loves my hair short. When I called her to tell her I wanted to go shorter again, about a month and a half later, she said “I knew that wouldn’t be short enough for you and that you’d be back to go shorter.” I think she knows me pretty well. She wasn’t surprised at all when I sent her pictures for inspiration for this latest cut and a few months down the road, if I decide to go shorter, I bet she won’t be surprised then either.

That’s just the way it is for hairstyle junkies like myself. I love it! I can’t get enough of it! I feel like a new person when I go get my hair done. It makes me excited to do my hair and makeup. I even get more excited about putting outfits together, imagining what they will look like with my new ‘do. A new style makes your accessories look different too.

So, you’re probably wondering when I’m going to show you my newest cut and color. I’ve blabbed long enough. So, here it is…

2015-05-06 15.17.53

What do you think? I love the versatility of it. I can make it big and sassy, tuck it behind my ears for a more casual look, twist my bangs back, etc. It’s fun to be able to make it look different depending on my outfit and my mood.

Here’s a little example of what the cut from Friday was like and how I got it spruced up to be more to my liking.

2015-05-06 12.07.18        2015-05-06 15.20.38

See, much better. It even made the color look better!

So, are you inspired to get a new style of your own? There are a million pictures on pinterest to give you ideas. Do consider your face shape and your stylist should be able to help you with that too. There are some cuts that just don’t flatter certain face shapes and so you obviously wouldn’t want to get something that wouldn’t compliment your features. You can even search for cuts that look good with your face shape. Maybe you’re not ready for a whole new style, but some highlights for summer would be a fun change! There are so many possibilities.

If you’ve been feeling in a rut and like you just need a refresher, I highly recommend that you consider a hair change. If you’re afraid of committing to a style, just remember that it’s not permanent. It grows back! And who knows, you might just discover a new look is exactly what you’ve been needing!

If this post inspires you to make a hair change, I would love to see your before and after photos, so please be sure to share!

6 thoughts on “Hairstyle Addict

Leave a Reply

