Take It To The Kitchen Tuesday – Southwestern Monte Cristo Sandwiches

funny-kitchen-signs

I like to cook up something a little unusual every now and then and thought it might be fun to share a recipe each week.

Last night for dinner, we had something that I haven’t made in an extremely long time. In fact, it’s been so long that my kids don’t even remember me ever making them. They were super excited when they sat down for dinner though .

Rachael Ray has done an amazing little twist on the Monte Cristo Sandwich. In this recipe, she uses pepper jack cheese and a really delicious ingredient that no one ever could have convinced me I would like…Hot Pepper Jelly. This girl, who can’t stand spicy things, is seriously lovin’ some hot pepper jelly. It’s spicy and sweet and amazing!

unnamed (1)

Here is her recipe: Southwestern Monte Cristo Sandwiches (serves 4)

  • 8 slices white sandwich bread
  • 1/2 cup jelly (hot pepper, or chili sauce, tomatillo or tomato salsa, taco sauce – whatever you have on hand)
  • 8 slices baked ham (honey, from the deli counter)
  • 8 slices pepper jack (from the deli counter
  • 8 slices smoked turkey (from the deli counter)
  • 2 eggs (beaten)
  • milk (Splash of)
  • 1 tbsp unsalted butter 

Cooking Instructions: spread bread with a light layer of pepper jelly or chili sauce, salsa, taco sauce then build sandwiches using 2 slices each of ham, cheese and turkey per sandwich. Beat eggs with milk and 2 teaspoons hot sauce and season the eggs with a little salt. Heat a griddle pan or nonstick skillet over medium heat. Melt butter in skillet. Dip each sandwich in egg coating and cook 3-4 minutes on each side to melt cheese and warm the meats through.

Now, I see she suggests that you can use something other than hot pepper jelly, but DON’T! I think that would be a terrible mistake! In fact, the other things it suggests sound downright disgusting to me, honestly. But hey, what do I know? Well, I know that my super picky 9 year old son thought the hot pepper jelly was amazing, so I think that’s saying something. I did leave out the 2 teaspoons of hot sauce she says to put in the egg mixture, simply because we don’t all love spicy things and since there was already spice from the jelly and the pepperjack cheese, I thought we could forego the hot sauce.

Everyone in this house loved the sandwiches and wanted to know when I’m making them again, so I think I’ll make sure not to wait so long before I make them again.

What do you think? Do they sound good to you? Do you think you’ll try making them? If you do, I would love to hear what you and your family think of them!

One thought on “Take It To The Kitchen Tuesday – Southwestern Monte Cristo Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

